A- / A+
Date Posted
April 26, 2021

Grey County Council met virtually on April 22, 2021 at 9:30 a.m. for the regular session of council. The meeting was immediately followed by a session of committee of the whole. A recording of the meetings can be found on Grey County’s YouTube Channel.

County Council

  • Council accepted the minutes of the April 8 County Council and Committee of the Whole meetings.   Council   Committee

Committee of the Whole

  • Council recognized Grey County Paramedics Alysha Carlaw, Katie Gibbons, Sonia Smart and Paula Trombley who were recently awarded Medical Director’s Awards by doctors from the Southwest Ontario Regional Base Hospital.
  • Council passed the 2021 tax policy, setting the tax ratios for the year. Council voted to eliminate discounts for vacant commercial and industrial properties. All other tax rates will remain the same as the 2020 year.  Report
  • Council heard a presentation from Suresh Singh, CEO of LCDG Inc. and Bob List, CEO of List Planning regarding the Loon Call Subdivision in the Municipality of Meaford. Council approved the creation of 201 residential lots.  Report
  • Council approved the Reserve and Reserve Fund Policy. Municipalities use reserves to keep taxes stable in years where large expenditures are needed. Report
  • Council received the quarterly purchasing report summarizing spending between $75,000 and $500,000. Some of the projects and purchases include the building of a historic General Store at Moreston Heritage Village, road construction projects and computer purchases for paramedics. Report
  • Council appointed Mary Lou Spicer as the County Treasurer starting in May. Grey County’s long-time treasurer Kevin Weppler is retiring at the end of April. Council also approved restructuring of finance staffing and addition of new roles. Municipal responsibilities continue to grow and the roles are needed to reduce overtime, improve services and ensure stability.  Report

The Clerk’s Department maintains the official record for Grey County. This publication is intended to provide meeting highlights only. For official records, please refer to the meeting minutes, or contact the Clerk’s Department at 1-800-567-4739.

Share this content