A- / A+

Apply to become a Grey County Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee Member

Grey County is committed to providing accessible and inclusive services to people of all abilities in a timely manner.

Accessibility Policies and Procedures

Grey County’s accessibility policies and procedures outline the municipality’s commitment to accessibility and explain how services are made accessible.

Multi-Year Accessibility Plan

The goal of the Multi-Year Accessibility Plan (2018-2022) is to set out Grey County’s strategies for identifying, removing and preventing barriers that challenge people with disabilities from fully participating in society.  The plan also identifies the way Grey County will be compliant with the rules and standards of theOntarians with Disabilities Act and Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act.

2022 Status Report

January 2021 Plan Update

2021 Accessibility Compliance Report

Provincial Legislation

There are three active pieces of legislation in Ontario that specifically address accessibility: the Human Rights Code, Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2001, and Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005

Human Rights Code

The Ontario Human Rights Code provides for equal rights and opportunities, and freedom from discrimination based on grounds of age, ancestry, race, ethnic origin, sex, family status, sexual orientation or disability.  It recognizes the dignity and worth of every person in Ontario.

Ontarians with Disabilities Act 

The Ontarians with Disabilities Act (ODA) supports the right of people with disabilities to enjoy equal opportunities and participate fully in Ontario.  The purpose of the Act is to improve opportunities for people with disabilities.

Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act

The Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA) is a commitment from the province of Ontario to improve accessibility for people with disabilities and crate an accessible Ontario by 2025.  The Act applies both private and public sector organizations with one or more employees in Ontario that provide goods, service or facilities. 

Grey County Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee

Grey County’s Accessibility Advisory Committee advises Grey County Council and staff members, as well as participating municipalities, on ways to identify, prevent, and remove barriers from municipal services, by-laws, policies, programs and facilities.

The committee is formed in compliance with the AODA and ODA to include 50% plus one of people with disabilities.  Other members include political representatives, staff and interested members of the public.

Grey County Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee Terms of Reference

Council Representative
Dwight Burley (Vice-Chair)

Public Members
Catherine Sholtz (Chair)
Christina Schnell
Andy Underwood
Claudia Strelocke
Brooke Sillaby
Participating Municipalities
The Township of Georgian Bluffs
The Municipality of Grey Highlands
The Town of Hanover
The Township of Southgate
The Town of the Blue Mountains
The Municipality of West Grey
If you are interested in getting involved with the Accessibility Advisory Committee, please complete our Volunteer Registration Form.

Submit Feedback Online


Kathie Nunno
Administrative & Accessibility Coordinator


County Clerk
595 9th Avenue East
Owen Sound Ontario N4K3E3
Hours: Monday - Friday (8:30 - 4:30)