A- / A+

If you need immediate assistance, please contact the Clerks Department at 519‑376‑2205 or toll free, 1‑800‑567‑4739.

Click on a heading below to view the agendas and minutes.

To watch Council meetings as they happen, visit our Council Live Stream.

County Council

December 5, 2017, 7:30 pm

Grey County Council is made up of the mayors and deputy mayors of Grey County’s nine member municipalities. These 18 councillors represent the best interests of Grey County as a whole and each year a Warden is elected as the head of council.

Grey County Council develops and evaluates policies to ensure Grey County services meet resident needs. Council is also responsible for the financial integrity of the municipality and many other duties. Full details can be found in the County’s Procedural By-Law.

County Council typically meets twice a month to discuss and approve the minutes and motions passed during the previous Committee of the Whole. On occasion, some items may bypass Committee of the Whole.

Committee of the Whole

November 9, 2017, 9:40 am
June 29, 2017, 9:15 am

All 18 Grey County councillors attend committee of the whole meetings. Each councillor has the opportunity to participate in discussions and forward recommendations for all areas of Grey County business.

A session of Grey County Council is held before each committee of the whole meeting. Council reviews and votes on the decisions made during the previous committee of the whole meeting. Bylaws are also passed during County Council. 

Grey County Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee

The Grey County Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee typically meets four times per year with more meetings as needed. This subcommittee reports to Committee of the Whole. It advises County Council about ways to ensure County services and spaces are accessible.

This committee meets requirements of the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act and Ontarians with Disabilities Act. Membership includes 50% plus one person with disabilities. One member of County Council sits on the committee and the rest are public members.

Council Appointee: Dwight Burley

Public Members: Christina Schnell, Andrew Edgcumbe, Catherine Sholtz, Andy Underwood, Claudia Strelocke, Brooke Sillaby

Joint Municipal Accessibility Advisory Committee Terms of Reference Volunteer Application Form

Grey County Building Task Force - Administration Building

April 27, 2017, 1:00 pm
April 13, 2017, 12:00 pm
February 23, 2017, 11:15 am

The Building Task Force is an ad hoc committee formed to oversee the construction and renovation of the Grey County Administration Building. This committee consists of the Warden and four members of County Council with additional support from staff.


Building Task Force Terms of Reference

Economic Development and Planning Advisory Committee

The Economic Development Advisory Committee meets regularly. This subcommittee reports to Committee of the Whole and advises council about expanding the prosperity base in Grey County. Specifically, the committee helps implement the “Made in Grey” Economic Development Strategy.

Terms of Reference

Voting membership is comprised of the Warden and seven council members appointed by Committee of the Whole and up to seven public members from the broader Grey County economic interests/sectors also participate.

Voting Membership:

  • Selwyn Hicks, Grey County Warden
  • Shirley Keaveney, Grey County Councillor
  • Tom Hutchinson, Grey County Councillor
  • John Woodbury, Grey County Councillor
  • Ian Boddy, Grey County Councillor
  • Peter Bordignon, Grey County Councillor
  • Sue Carleton, Grey County Councillor
  • Paul McQueen, Grey County Councillor
  • Ashley Chapman
  • Brian Davenport
  • Lynda Bumstead
  • John Kurvink
  • Steacy Den Haan
  • Lisa Taylor
  • .
  • Andrea Riley
  • Grey Bruce Health Services Representative

Tourism Advisory Committee

The Tourism Advisory Committee meets regularly. This subcommittee reports to Committee of the Whole about ways to improve local tourism.

Voting membership includes five local members of the tourism industry or pubic representing a cross-section of interests in tourism. Grey County Council also appoints two members from Council.


  • Tom Hutchinson
  • Sue Carleton
  • Joel Dawson
  • Jim Diebel
  • Jim Halliday
  • Andrea O'Reilly
  • Andrew Siegwart

Tourism Advisory Committee Terms of Reference & Application Form and Schedule A

Other Appointments to Agencies, Boards and Committees

Board of Health - Grey Bruce Unit

Public Health – Grey Bruce Health Unit: www.publichealthgreybruce.on.ca


Main Committee

  • Warden Alan Barfoot
  • Kevin Eccles
  • Sue Paterson
  • Arlene Wright

Grey County Federation of Agriculture

Grey Agricultural Services: www.greyagservices.ca/index.php


Main Committee

  • Paul McQueen
  • Harley Greenfield (alternate)

Stewardship Grey Bruce

Welcome to the Grey County Forest Stewardship Network Homepage:

Main Committee

  • John McKean

Niagara Escarpment Commission

Welcome to the Niagara Escarpment Commission: www.escarpment.org/home/index.php

Main Committee

  • Paul McQueen

Owen Sound Community Advisory Committee for Georgian College

Committee Structure

Committee Structure

Notice of Collection of Personal Information

The personal information contained in communications directed to County Council or its Standing Committees is collected under the authority of the Municipal Act, 2001 as amended and will be used to assist Council Members in their decision making process.   Questions about this collection should be addressed to the County Clerk at 595 9th Avenue East, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 3E3 or by telephone at 519-376-2205.

Communications addressed to County Council and its Standing Committees will become part of the public record and may be placed on a public agenda made available through the County of Grey Internet website.