Home Increase Font Size Decrease Font Size
Listen with BrowseAloud

About Social Housing

Grey County Housing is responsible for the direct management of 888 former Ontario Housing Corporation public housing units in Grey County. They are located at 32 sites located in 10 communities in Grey County;

Grey Highlands (Flesherton and Markdale)
Owen Sound
Southgate (Dundalk and Holstein)
The Blue Mountains (Thornbury)
West Grey (Durham)

Apply Now:
  Social Housing Printable Application Form 

All units are subsidized, rent geared-to-income housing units. Approximately 80% of the units house senior citizens, couples or single residents, and 20% house families.

Grey County Housing is also responsible for the administration of the Non-Profit Housing Providers in Grey County. These providers own and manage their housing projects and the operations are subsidized to allow them to provide social housing. The administration and subsidy costs for 10 non-profit housing providers’ projects, with a combined total of 467 units are the responsibility of the County of Grey. The providers range from municipalities, to churches, service groups and community groups.

Three projects, totalling 66 units, also managed by two of the Non Profit Housing Providers noted above, are Federally funded projects.

These social housing projects differ from public housing in that their rental groups are a mix of residents paying market rent and residents whose rent is geared-to-income.

All applications for housing are processed by Grey County Housing through the Co-ordinated Access System. Applicants complete one application and are placed on the waiting lists for each of the projects they have indicated, whether Grey County Housing or Non Profit Providers.

To view PDFs please download the latest Adobe Acrobat Reader

You are Here: Home / Health & Social Services / Subsidized Housing / About Social Housing